Despite the fact that i had learned civil engineering for five years, have been auditing government construction projects for (more or less) five years, and i am a loyal architecture fans, still i find some difficulties in directing my own construction project. Uhmm.. not a big project, just have to fix some parts of ma petite maison which has been abandoned for almost two and half year.

Where is the money, where is the time? That is what i read when i was blogwalking to one of my fave blogs (mostly about home design and decor). The author also wanted to do small change on her house (bedroom) by self-painting her bedroom wall. As for me, i will shout the question twice! hahaha πŸ˜€ yup! where is the money and where is the time. I have a lot of idea on how to renovate my “little box”, not to mention there are many things to be fixed but money and time are the constraints besides the fact that this is my first experience designing, financing, supervising as yet being the end user of a project πŸ™‚

Planning the renovation project to the best is the best way to overcome the time and budget constraints. So, again, i am challenged to bring the planing theories into my real life πŸ˜‰Β Well, shall i blame it on my fond of architecture and design books so i come up with sooooo many ideas on how to design and decorate my house? hahaha πŸ˜€ It’s okay to have so many ideas. Yet, it has to be realistic!

Some of the interior books i bought in Netherlands

I know that i have limited budget at this moment. Financially, my life has back to it’s normal rythm, no longer earn EURO but a job that pay the rent. So i have to prioritize things. Few days ago the girls came with idea of having another getaway to Karimun Jawa which i love to do πŸ™‚ And today, a friend o’mine invited me to come along to Pangandaran beach and spend weekend time by the blue sea. Well, that is also a very tempting idea, and i haven’t use my new swimsuit yet hehehe (me and my friends were planning to swim in neigboourhood swimming pool but we kept postponing it :-p). Owh, there is also need for my coming graduation ceremony in UGM (the second graduation for my master degree). My Mom and dad want to attend it, as for me i had enough with my previous graduation ceremony in Rotterdam πŸ˜€ Uhmmm…let’s see! I am desperately need my house back right now. I can’t live with my stuffs kept on the suitcase like it is now. I need my privacy and my own space. And i want to invite some friends to my house, perhaps cook for them like i used to do when i was in Rotterdam. So, i guess i can skip HOLIDAY from my to do list for this time being, and put RENOVATING on the top of the list πŸ™‚

Limited time, that is another thing. I have to go back to work as soon. Well, my employer have asked me to get back to the office as soon but i told them i need time extension. Partly because i Β do not have uniforms yet (a hearbreaking fact i must admit: my uniforms do not fit me anymore after those two and half year of kept gaining weight! :-p) and partly because i am not yet officially graduated from UGM though academically i am. So, i still have some times during this period of time to focus on this project and supervise it myself. Better be hurry, yes!

But then i don’t think like i am able to handle this project all by myself (regarding to my constraints). So i ended up asking help from my uncle and my friend. My parents ? They have already helped before i ask πŸ™‚ Well, they also offer me soft loan (without interest and unlimited time, eh?) Β just in case the cost exceeds my budget. But i’m trying not to take their offer. I don’t think having two loan at the same time will do any help. Yes, it does helps but for the short term because it will cover all the needs at the moment. But long term? hahaha, thinking about responsibility to payback the loan besides my monthly mortgage? How am i supposed to finance my life then ?Β Whewww, i don’t think so πŸ™‚ Instead, i have to be smart in planning my project, money follow function!

I asked my uncle to help me making decision. I would like to have my parents, especially my Dad, helping me. He is really good at construction things, he knows practical things on renovating a house. Well, it runs in the family, his father (my grandfather) was a carpenter πŸ™‚ He, my Dad, said he would like to accompany and supervised my project but i can’t be so selfish having him by my side all the time πŸ™‚ He has something else to do. So, i turned to my uncle πŸ™‚ But he is also busy like a bee πŸ˜€ Then i came to one of my friends, who is an architect, and ask his assistance for this project πŸ™‚ (oops! i also asked my cousin who studies design in ITB and has won several design competition but too bad he had trouble with his computer right after Steve jobs, the creator, passed away…). So, the hierrarchy of this project is me myself as the owner, planner, decision maker, supervisor; my uncle, my dad, my mom as co-supervisor and co-decision maker; and my friend as co-planner πŸ™‚ and my cousin as the design expert. uhmm.. sounds like a very proffesional project huh? πŸ˜€

A few days ago, my uncle and i went to some carpenters to figure out how much will it cost for wood work. I have to make comparison on the cost, the quality of the work and the quality of the material. Kinda complicated when you want a quality wood but face budget constraint at the same time :-p You have to read a lot, find more refferences before come up with decision πŸ™‚ and the other day, my co-planner came to the project site (yes, let’s make it officially hehehe). He came and saw around my house. I told him what i want and let him draw and estimate the cost roughly. He promised to come with detailed plan and estimation as soon. Well, i need to spend my money smartly! Otherwise i will just messing around with my money and will not get my house back as i want..

Owh, i have to say this! According to my co-planner, the feng shui of my house is not really good! Oh oh.. I plan to change the layout of my kitchen door. He thinks it is not a good idea because the front door will be exactly in front of the kitchen door. I told him i can have more space in the kitchen if i change the layout and he agreed to that. I told him i will put a mirror or something red between them to balance the yin and yang energy (i also read feng shui, FYI) πŸ™‚ but then he said not to worry about feng shui. but then again, he complained about my two bedrooms which door is also right in front of the other door πŸ˜€ What can i say? I bought a ready stock house from the developer, so i have it the way it is. I told him about Dutch houses which i adore ! i don’t think Dutch apply feng shui on their houses but they live just owkay in their places πŸ™‚ h second that hehehe πŸ˜€ Owkay, i told him to go with my plan, and asked him to come with detail estimation so i can adjust my plan and make decision as soon as possible. Prioritizing is the priority in conducting this project πŸ™‚ Though i want to carry out all of my plan, again, i have to be realistic regarding to my budget and time constraint πŸ™‚

So, readers..
Cross your hand for my project, please. May i find some good workers, may wages & material prices go down, may this project success and God bless my little house, amin πŸ˜€

