Tags

, , , ,

“Saat membuat keputusan-keputusan untuk hidup kita, seberapa sering kita lupa bahwa orang-orang terdekat ikut membayar harga keputusan itu? (AlisaWahid)”

I had to come back home today, to my aunt’s place, since tomorrow i have to decide to whom i will give my votes hehe 😀 A very big decision that will build up the whole city for the next five years, to be hyperbolic :-p Yeah, one vote perhaps nothing but there are perhaps hundreds “me” out there, so every single vote does counts.

Yup, i was registered for tomorrow election at another district where i used to live with my aunt’s family. My dear cousin texted me yesterday, saying “neng, jangan lupa bawa kue kata papa”. Haha 😀 You’d have no idea why I laughed over this text 🙂 My uncle was  one of few people who worried and have that thought of “when she get married, she could not cook anything for her family” about me :-p Now, look who’s requesting something from my little kitchen haha 😀

But yes, recalling few years ago, I cooked nothing except instant noodle and boiling water, if those are considered cooking :-p But now, I enjoy being in the kitchen and start to have an image of me and my own brand of “aunty De’s house of klapertart”. Someday! Yes, someday. Not for this time being coz I enjoy giving food for free, besides I make a good living from my present job. No need to rush for additional money with my current life style hehe. I dont live a fancy life but thanks God, i make prettyy good by myself and I have enough 🙂

Cook for good, share for good 🙂 My recipes, friends, smile, laugh over my kitchen disaster, gathering and talking over daily things with cups of tea… Those are my pleasures that money can’t buy 🙂 Like those hardcore backpackers love travelling, like those girls like wandering around a shopping malls, like those bad boys enjoy racing exceed the speed limitation. Me, like and love cooking 🙂

Today recipe: apple crumble cake

Today recipe: apple crumble cake

I only had 3 eggs and one apple left on the fridge, so I gave another attempt to this recipe of apple cinnamon crumble cake. My first attempt was quiet success except for the fact that I used brown sugar instead of palm sugar that made my dough was more moist :-p My aunt’s family has not yet tried this, hopefully they will like it. Perhaps, my cousin who stays and works as an art designer in Bandung would also come home. I want to show off this recipe to him before he departs to Milan for a summer course. He probably would stop by in Netherland and have a chance to try this kinda recipe there. So he gotta try mine first haha 😀

Tadaaa ! apple crumble cake :-9

Tadaaa ! apple crumble cake :-9

So here it goes (I got the original recipe from sajiansedap.com) :

Main dough :

  • 150 gr butter
  • 100 gr palm sugar
  • 3 eggs
  • 150 gr wheat flour
  • 2 teasp cinnamon (I prefer using spekoek like they use in Netherland, the smells is more yummilicious 😉 )
  • ½ teasp baking powder
  • 1 apple, peeled and sliced

Crumble dough:

  • 100 gr butter
  • 80 gr sugar
  • 140 gr wheat flour

And these are step by step:

  1. Crumble dough: mix altogether butter and sugar until soft and pale, then add flour and mix them altogether until you get a soft dough, almost looks like dough for cookies but more moist and soft. Keep it in the fridge for about 30 minutes.

    crumble dough

    crumble dough

  2. Main dough: Stir butter and palm sugar until soft. Then add eggs one by one, mix and stir them altogether.
  3. Add flour, baking powder, spekoek (cinnamon, if you like), and then mix them

    main dough

    main dough

  4. Pour half of the main dough into a baking pan and arrange slices of apple before you cover it with another half of the dough.

    put some apple slices

    put some apple slices

  5. Last, cover it with the crumble dough. Spread it using your fingers.
  6. Bake in the pre-heated oven, low heat, 160 c for about 40 minutes.

There you go, very easy and simple. I like the nice smell created from spekoek and apple when they are baked 🙂

I hope my aunt’s family would be happy enjoying this recipe this afternoon 🙂

Owh, by the way, I came across reading thee six rules of happiness this morning. Let me share you this, I guess it’s not only me who needs such enlightment these days hehe 🙂

So, enjoy !

Don’t hate others simply because they have wronged you

Combat worry by having hope in the Almighty and praying excessively

Live simply no matter how high your status may rise

Expect goodness no matter how many tests you may face

Be generous even if you feel a slight loss

Smile, even if your heart may be sad

